News:

Topic: Sub-d Modeling  (Read 10533 times)

• No avatar
  • Polygon
December 02, 2012, 06:49:33 pm
Hello,

First of all, I do not normally work with sub-d, but due to seeing that NVIL is put forward as being a sub-d modeler I though I should learn. I do know the basics, but wanted to look more at NVILs "Crease Subd".
In the help file it states that "Crease Subdivision":- "It is recommended that the mesh must be subdivided to at least level 3"
On my first attempts, NVIL either refused to apply the sub-d or crashed (out of memory- 1.3GB soft limit). So, to find limit of mesh size I could use(by default), I created a Sphere with a specific size(slices/stacks) to see what amount of polygons I could start with, before applying 3 levels of sub-d, however, I also need to take into account memory used by NVIL when it converts the mesh to .obj format for export.
So my process was to create a sphere of specific poly_count, add 3 levels of sub-d, then [attempt to] export as .obj file (when NVIL crashed/gave error, I would restart NVIL and start again). My findings are that I am limited to a base mesh(before sub-d applied) of approx 3,500 polygons. If I go beyond that, then NVIL will give error on .obj export of "Failed to save file: system.OutOfMemoryException"

To me, a base mesh of 3,500 polygons is very low for a sub-d modeler. Is it a bug or a limitation?

Thanks,

• No avatar
  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
December 02, 2012, 09:49:01 pm
It's neither a bug nor a limitation. For a mesh of 3500 polygons, at subd level 3, it will be 4x4x4x3500 = 224000 polygons. When you export it, the program will first duplicate an object for exporting purpose. During the exporting to obj format process, there are other memory consumption requirement. Although there may be ways to reduce memory consumption, but it is not an easy thing to do.

Have you tried increasing your available rams?

• Administrator
  • Polygon
December 02, 2012, 10:02:54 pm