News:

 

Topic: Draw Mesh Locking up every few frames?  (Read 318 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 8
  • Vertex
January 27, 2020, 12:46:30 am
Hey Guys,

I wanted to ask if there were any tricks to working with Draw Mesh. I'm retopoing over a Decimated mesh,
It's not too high polys at all.
Once I start drawing splines it will begin to freeze with the view port freezing every now and again, not lagging but just locking up.  Any tips on solving this issue?

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 3531
  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
January 27, 2020, 01:30:48 am
How many polys on your reference object?
What is the locking behavior? Does it happen when you rotate/pan view port?


Try this options and see if it can solve the problem.
* In the "Scene Explorer" window, right click the reference object node and freeze it with the freeze command.
* Turn off this option, Edit > Preference > Options 2 > Modeling > Snap to frozen object enabled.

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 8
  • Vertex
January 27, 2020, 01:56:59 am
I've tried those changes and still going slow.
Here is video of exactly what is happening.
https://youtu.be/40P8ors_p2I

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 3531
  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
January 27, 2020, 02:04:11 am
Can you send me the .vws scene file?

And also send me all your config files in this folder, C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\DigitalFossils\NVil\User Settings.

Send to info@digitalfossils.com
« Last Edit: January 27, 2020, 02:06:11 am by IStonia »

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 3531
  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
January 27, 2020, 02:19:28 am
Too many drawn lines can drop down performance.
Try click the "Enter" key to convert the drawn lines to meshes so there is no more drawn lines. See if the locking disappear after this.

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 8
  • Vertex
January 27, 2020, 03:33:30 am
Hi Istonia,

Here is the file for you to take a look at.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/j4tdpp2sw3i13jd/Files_Nvil.zip?dl=0

The issues has resolved given the converting to polys is used. Though seems like I can only draw a pretty limited number of lines before it lags.
« Last Edit: January 27, 2020, 03:36:09 am by mikeanash »

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 3531
  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
January 27, 2020, 03:51:07 am
The issues has resolved given the converting to polys is used. Though seems like I can only draw a pretty limited number of lines before it lags.

There are some quite heavy computation behind the scene. How many lines can you have before it stats to lag?

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 3531
  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
February 21, 2020, 07:55:00 am
It is fixed in the new released version.