News:

 

Topic: Samardac Config (The Best for New Users, www.nvil.info)  (Read 14377 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Posts: 455
  • Triangle
April 24, 2015, 01:34:21 pm
Image as requested.

Its the fuselage & cowling of WWI fighter aircraft.

  • Posts: 1696
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
    • http://samardac.com/
April 24, 2015, 01:59:48 pm
Ha, ha, never notice it, check this one, I fix it, now back face a dark grey, thanks for reporting it.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/al1j8dli6qqp6k2/Samardac_Config_2.4.exe?dl=0
« Last Edit: April 24, 2015, 03:54:22 pm by samardac »
Portfolio: www.samardac.com

  • Posts: 1696
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
    • http://samardac.com/
April 24, 2015, 03:55:31 pm
I remember that somebody told that this - back face in gray, consume a lot of PC power. So I prefer not to use it. So looks like everything will stay as it is.
Portfolio: www.samardac.com

  • Posts: 455
  • Triangle
April 24, 2015, 08:44:31 pm
Ha, ha, never notice it, check this one, I fix it, now back face a dark grey, thanks for reporting it.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/al1j8dli6qqp6k2/Samardac_Config_2.4.exe?dl=0

I now get backface in gray but front face still black (or near black) with headlight on.

I sent the scene to you in the email to your gmail account, if you want to play with it as I am unsure why it works ok for you and not for me.
« Last Edit: April 24, 2015, 08:50:26 pm by kevjon »

  • Posts: 1696
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
    • http://samardac.com/
April 25, 2015, 04:29:51 am
Hay Kevin,
This is how it looks now:


I just play a bit with lights and it is the best result I could make.
Back face in Gray now turned off, your fuselage now looks not bed. Back face is dark in that engine detail becouse  light do not penetrate here.
Portfolio: www.samardac.com

  • Posts: 1696
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
    • http://samardac.com/
April 25, 2015, 05:52:09 am
Version 2.4 is here.

Updates:

I continue to experiment with Pivot window and looks like I found nice solution, this is how it looks now:


I made the settings that you will use most of all the bigger button and small that you will use very rare.
Also I tried to make Orientation and Position to look visually different, to help you distinguish them.

Behavior:
When you go to the object mode(F1) Position and Orientation will set to Object.
When you go to subobject mode from object mode or spline (1,2,3) Position will set to selection and Orientation will set to World.
When you go to manual mode(F2) Position and Orientation will set to Manual.

Shortcuts:
(F1) Set Position and Selection to World. Also Set Object Pivot.
(F2) Set Position and Selection to Manual. Also Set Manual Pivot.
(F3)* (New Shortcut) Drop Pivot, i.e. set Position to Selection and Orientation to World.

Also you can click RMB to set both Position and Orientation at the same time.

I tested this scheme looks nice, I hope it will make you work with Pivot in the Most comfortable way ever!
Also I hope you will use this window very rare because a lot of things now automated for the best use.

Some modification was made with lightning.


Download:
www.nvil.info
« Last Edit: April 25, 2015, 08:37:39 am by samardac »
Portfolio: www.samardac.com

  • Posts: 455
  • Triangle
April 25, 2015, 05:52:40 am
Hi Andrei

That looks good.

When you say play with lights what do you mean ? Do you mean move them around in the scene ? Pull them away from the model ?

Is headlight still turned on or did you turn it off ?

I'm not worried about polygon backface being black or dark grey, its more about being able to see front facing polygons clearly in the ortho views.

  • Posts: 1696
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
    • http://samardac.com/
April 25, 2015, 06:07:29 am
kevjon,
Redownload this config I just modify it a bit, seconds ago.

You can turn Head Light on or off as you wish by default it is On.
I played with all settings of lights, by moving them and change their intensity e.t.c.
So looks like I found best balance.

Portfolio: www.samardac.com

  • Posts: 455
  • Triangle
April 25, 2015, 06:13:51 am
Thanks, I've downloaded it and all sorted now. Thanks.

The materials that are white, now look white in the scene.

Incidently I solved by viewport clipping problem by going to the view menu and checking "Advance Focus Point on Orthographic view zooming". Now I can use the mouse wheel to zoom in as close as I want in Ortho views.

  • Posts: 1696
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
    • http://samardac.com/
April 25, 2015, 06:23:33 am
Thanks, I did not know about that option, just read about it here:
http://voidworld.cmcproductions.co.uk/index.php?topic=1822.15

Looks like it have some side effect, I'll think about using it. Now I use - best fit and it solves all problems with clipping.
Portfolio: www.samardac.com

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 19
  • Vertex
April 25, 2015, 12:01:09 pm
Andrei,
I'm getting on well with your rapidly evolving Config.
But, I do find it a bit difficult to read as my eyesight is not so good.
Any chance of making the letters black instead of grey to improve the contrast?
In Preferences/Colors I'm using the Standard option for the Dock Caption Scheme.
In Preferences/Colors I can change the HUD to black but can't see a way of making the characters in the Docks black.

  • Posts: 1696
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
    • http://samardac.com/
April 25, 2015, 03:59:37 pm
mgg942,
I just modify a bit config, now you can change colors of all window, check this video how:
http://take.ms/dYuPU

Download config:
http://bit.ly/1OmW9c6
Portfolio: www.samardac.com

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 19
  • Vertex
April 25, 2015, 09:52:00 pm
That's wonderful.
Many thanks.

  • Posts: 455
  • Triangle
April 26, 2015, 11:17:10 am
Hi Andrei

One thing I couldn't find in your interface is the ability to rotate the workplane. It allows you to orientate your top, right views to the polygons your working on when they are at weird angles in 3d space.

I also find I have to go to the menus all the time to bring up the universal manipulator. Do you not use it ?
« Last Edit: April 26, 2015, 11:25:07 am by kevjon »

  • Posts: 1696
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
    • http://samardac.com/
April 26, 2015, 11:40:41 am
kevjon, about workplane, you will need SET polygon option, to set WP to selected polygon:
(I just putted arrow to the LOCK by mistake, it have to point to SET)


About universal manipulator, I never use it because it is too big and massy.
I use only shortcuts for Transforming and Manipulator I use only to see its position and orientation.
« Last Edit: April 26, 2015, 11:42:22 am by samardac »
Portfolio: www.samardac.com