News:

 

Topic: New update questions.  (Read 1485 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 39
  • Vertex
September 19, 2011, 10:30:27 am
I have downloaded and installed the latest update, but I am having a couple of problems.

one of the problems is this item
*Two more basic streamline tools. Edge_DoubleLoop_Cut/Slide, Edge_Loop_Cut/Slide_FixedLength(UseLastValue).

I can't seem to find them anywhere, I have gone into Edit, Customize Streamline Tools, and didn't find them, also how do I implement them.

Another thing that has my curiosity is the NMB and the X1 and X2, I have tried looking in the help file but the X 1 and 2 is not mentioned, I found the NMB but it didn't tell me what it stands for, what are these tools ?
   I followed the instructions in the help file, but,  it didn't work so I assume that I have made a mistake, but not knowing the programme or what this item is I don;t know what the mistake is or how to fix it.

After setting up the NMB? and following the description I then create a box, (I have set to Shift B)

 Select the edge tool (S) - hover mouse over the edges and hold down the S but it toggles the edge tool off.
What am I doing wrong?

  • Posts: 547
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
September 19, 2011, 11:04:29 am
the new doable edge loop cut tools can be find by setting a new subtool for a streamline tol and selecting them from the edge section. and what they do is drag at 2 edge loops at a time from the center of the edge you got your cursor on.

i put it on RMB of the existing edgeloop cut tool.

and about the key abbreviations.

NMB Stands for "No Mouse Button" and is for streamline tools that dont require you to press a mouse key, just hold the key and drag the mouse like the extrude or bevel functions.

and X1 and X2 refer extra mouse buttons, like on my mouse which is a logitech mx518 it refers to the 2 side thumb buttons.


and im not sure what your referring to with the select edge tool, since i dont know what the defualt S key does for VW.
« Last Edit: September 19, 2011, 11:08:08 am by Passerby »

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 39
  • Vertex
September 19, 2011, 10:12:58 pm
Thanks passerby, I do have a couple of extra buttons on my mouse that I could put to use.

The S key at the moment is the edge tool selection.

I don't know how to set it all back to factory settings so I may have to delete VW and reinstall the latest update afresh, I have been updating over the top, and maybe it has been keeping some sort of configurations, that is not the original settings and possibly that's why when I look at the updates I cannot implement them.

But thanks again for your help

  • Posts: 547
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
September 19, 2011, 11:29:07 pm
the settings aren't installed with the VW install.
There stored in .

C:\Users\[user]\Documents\DigitalFossils\
obviously replacing user with your username.

and to get the keys back to default you could just go to
"edit>options>reset hotkey style"

hope this helps, i tend to backup that path once and a while so i can have a copy of all of my settings at the last point when they worked, in-case i mess something up along the way.
« Last Edit: September 19, 2011, 11:32:10 pm by Passerby »

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 3401
  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
September 19, 2011, 11:53:26 pm
philem: You can post over a snap shot of the edge S tool settings so we can know how you have done to that tool.

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 39
  • Vertex
September 20, 2011, 10:19:56 am
I deleted VW from the desktop and went into C:\Users\[user]\Documents\DigitalFossils\ and deleted the folder.

Reinstalled VW from the 19Sept file and all is back to basic again, so now will start again and set the hotkeys to my liking and more practicing with the programme,  and the S key is working as it should, and with the explanation of what NMB means and what the X1 and X2 buttons are things are looking brighter..

I tried to put the latest update  20aSep but there was an issue with it and it didn't go in, but fortunately it didn't seem to upset the original install.