News:

Topic: Bits`n`pieces  (Read 17848 times)

• No avatar
  • Polygon
July 08, 2012, 09:59:10 pm
Hello,

I am a newbie with Voidworld and dont normally build any models as such until I know a program quite well, but thought I would post some pics of the various bits`n`pieces I build while learning.

I have been trying out the various retopo tools. These are just 3 of my attempts. (I do not use sub-d)

• No avatar
  • Polygon
July 09, 2012, 07:39:28 pm
Another "bit"

• No avatar
  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
July 10, 2012, 12:18:59 am
Wow! How did you do that? My curious.

• No avatar
  • Polygon
July 10, 2012, 01:43:47 am
Hi IStonia,

I just made a flat part, then used the Twist/spline modifier.

Regards,

-Steve

• No avatar
  • Polygon
July 11, 2012, 12:10:05 am
Another twist`n`bendy bit (spline modify). Thought I would make a quick render of this one.

• Edge
July 11, 2012, 01:50:18 am
Any tips for someone who's trying to wrap their head around spline?
I spent about two hours on the spline modifier today, and still don't understand.

• No avatar
  • Polygon
July 11, 2012, 10:10:42 am
Hello,

Once you know the basics, the rest should fall into place.

Quick example.

I have created a segmented plane on the world Z/X, with the length of the plane running along the world X.
I draw a 2 point (must only be 2 points) spline for the axis, running along the world X, the same length of the mesh(plane). The axis spline is created from left to right(running positive in the main X direction). Red arrows showing 2 points on axis spline.
When creating the "Path curve" drawn on the world Y/X. I have created a circle as I want the mesh to become a tube. You should take care (for this example) that the "Path curve" and the "axis line" are the same length, if not, then the mesh will be stretched or compressed (if they are different lengths). You should also have the start point of the "axis line" and "path curve" at the same origin(start point)