News:

 

Topic: NvilClipboard (Blender)  (Read 16482 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Posts: 547
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
April 07, 2014, 04:47:31 pm
done

NvilClipboard.zip

Install that zip file into blender using the install from file feature of the Addon browser, than enable the add on.
Once that is done you should be able to search 'nvil' in the spacebar menu, and will see 2 options one to pick up things from the nvilclipboard, and one to drop the selected object to the nvilclipboard.

If you want to bind it to a key, just create a new keybind in the Input editor.
The command to pickup a item from the clipboard is.
Code: [Select]
wm.nvilimport
The command to drop a item to the clipboard is.
Code: [Select]
wm.nvilexport

If you want to ask for features or report bugs, can just do so on this topic, or you can post on the github repo for this addon.

https://github.com/cmcpasserby/BlenderNvilClipboard
« Last Edit: June 09, 2014, 01:26:44 pm by Passerby »

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 232
  • Spline
April 07, 2014, 04:56:43 pm
Brilliant! Now have to run - but I'll check this out later tonight.

  • Posts: 496
  • Triangle
April 07, 2014, 07:55:53 pm
Thanks a lot! The timing is right, because just this week I begun to explore the Blender Python API. I don't know an awful lot about it, but I took your script and extended it with a panel for the Tools Shelf (for people who like to press buttons). I'm still not quite sure which bl_idname to give to classes. I also don't know if I have to register & unregister all 3 classes, or just the one for the panel. Anyway, it's attached as a zip file. Improve upon it, if you like!
« Last Edit: April 07, 2014, 09:59:37 pm by Vaquero »

  • Posts: 496
  • Triangle
April 07, 2014, 08:01:16 pm
Oh, and if you'd rather have it in the scene tab of your properties window, you need to change/add the following in the NvilClipboardPanel class inside the NvilClipboard.py:

Code: [Select]
    # put this right under the class defintiion
    bl_space_type = 'PROPERTIES'
    bl_region_type = 'WINDOW'
    bl_context = "scene"

  • Posts: 547
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
April 07, 2014, 08:04:10 pm
looks right to me.
for idnames i tend use a dot syntax "nvilclipboard.drop" where i got the general category, than the command.

but it's up to personal preference, just in the case of operators, they user might see the id if they have to bind it to a key or something.

Also i would make sure to register the UI after the operators it uses.

EDIT:
sinec i know most people dont want to dig into code, lets just ask where everybody rather have it, in the file menu, the scene tab or in the toolbar?

Than we can implement it in the one they want.
« Last Edit: April 07, 2014, 08:06:11 pm by Passerby »

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 23
  • Vertex
    • My worklog
April 08, 2014, 08:30:49 am
Hi to all,

I'm new on this forum, I'm Asticles (Salva), from Spain. I'm currently working as a lowpoly modeler with 3dmax and Blender and I saw in a forum nvil existence so I'm considering to buy it if it fits to my workflow.

As a Blender user I have tried this addon but always I get "File not found" error.

Also, is there anything similar with Max (I try not to model with it because it makes me upset xD).

Also, If anyone has Blender questions I will be glad to answer them, so everyone can learn new things.

Regards!

PS: A bit more documentation on the wiki would be great. ;)


  • Posts: 547
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
April 08, 2014, 11:28:14 am
Make sure to use the clipboard feature from nvil first, so the needed file can be created first.

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 23
  • Vertex
    • My worklog
April 08, 2014, 11:40:56 am
I click first on file-clipboard-copy(obj) ? If is this, I have already tried with an object selected on voidworld. I understand that there could be a lot of possible causes.

  • Posts: 547
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
April 08, 2014, 12:10:35 pm
ya that should be the right button,

workflow would be file>clipboard>copy in nvil, than using the NvilClipboard Pickup command in blender.

could you go to this path, in a file browser
Code: [Select]
%appdata%/DigitalFossils/NVil/Media/Clipboard/
and let me know what path it expands out to be, and let me know if the ClipboardObj.obj file is there, after you use the file-clipboard-copy(obj) feature in nvil?

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 23
  • Vertex
    • My worklog
April 08, 2014, 12:23:47 pm
Ok, I've seen that the directory structure is not there, creating it does help to the blender side, but voidworld does not seem to use it.

It should be the voidworld version, I'm using free one (2.4).

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 306
  • Triangle
April 08, 2014, 12:45:17 pm
Thank you very very very very very much!!!!
Unfortunately in Saturdays video card broke, not possible to use

  • Posts: 547
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
April 08, 2014, 12:51:04 pm
@Asticles

ah that is the problem than, the older version of NVIL uses a different path, and the addon is meant for the newest version.


  • No avatar
  • Posts: 23
  • Vertex
    • My worklog
April 08, 2014, 01:52:51 pm
Ok I figured out, changing from:

objPath = os.environ['APPDATA']
objPath = objPath + '/DigitalFossils/NVil/Media/Clipboard/ClipboardObj.obj'

To:
objPath =  '%s\\My Documents' % os.environ['USERPROFILE']
objPath = objPath + '/DigitalFossils/VoidWorld/Media/Animation Data/Base Data Sets/SoundTemp/ClipboardObj.obj'

The problem seems solved.

Thanks

  • Posts: 547
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
April 08, 2014, 01:59:57 pm
ya less a problem with the script, than just old nvil's using a differnt path

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 23
  • Vertex
    • My worklog
April 08, 2014, 02:01:45 pm
I think this is ok, it's working for me, I'm not a programmer.