News:

Topic: Spherize tool not making perfect circle  (Read 4571 times)

• No avatar
  • Spline
    • White-creatures
April 24, 2013, 04:07:04 pm
I tried out Nvil for the first time this afternoon, been knowing this modeling tool for a long time now since last year.. I need to explore more but looks like this could replace Silo for me :) The lil bit of annoyance so far is the ui and navigation feels a tiny bit laggy? But maybe I open too much programs... I just want to ask about the Spherize tool, I want to do something like this:

It is from a timelapse modeling video using Softimage (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ct9voyU3h0). Vitaly bulgarov use this technique many times.. so I tried this in Nvil, using Spherize from the menu, this is what I get...

it didn't give me a perfect circle? I am new to Nvil so maybe I din't find the option yet or I use it wrong. I also remember reading somewhere there's a Circularize tool, but I can't find it.

Edit:
Ah... I posted on the wrong section! sorry  :-[
« Last Edit: April 24, 2013, 04:22:26 pm by miica »

• Administrator
  • Polygon
April 24, 2013, 04:23:11 pm
hmm, try using the space loop command before spherize.

looks like it is trying to make a circle, but the verts just arent spaced right.

• No avatar
  • Polygon
April 24, 2013, 04:47:26 pm
Hi miica,

it didn't give me a perfect circle? I am new to Nvil so maybe I din't find the option yet or I use it wrong.
The "Spherize" will only move the sub_object selection to a radius from the manipulator,  it will not automatically equally space them. As mentioned by Passerby, you would also need to use the "Space Loop" function on that example.

I also remember reading somewhere there's a Circularize tool, but I can't find it.
That is a basic streamline tool. You will need to setup a streamline engine tool for that.
There is info in the help file (Help -> Tutorial -> Set Up A StreamLine Tool.) that should help you set up the streamline tool.

• Triangle