NVil Forum

General Category => NVILL Discussion => Topic started by: samardac on May 06, 2014, 09:14:11 am

Title: AppLink to Rhino
Post by: samardac on May 06, 2014, 09:14:11 am
Is it possible to make AppLink to Rhino?
Title: Re: AppLink to Rhino
Post by: polyxo on May 11, 2014, 03:35:57 pm
It's already there and works perfectly. :)
Just use the clipboard saving feature ( I use .obj as Rhino doesn't properly support .dae).
Inside Rhino one can write some super simple macros to bring meshes in and to export them out.


This is what you can map to a button or hotkey for import (path is for win 7 - just make sure that you change the Username):
Code: [Select]
!Import
"C:\Users\yourUserName\AppData\Roaming\DigitalFossils\NVil\Media\Clipboard\ClipboardObj.obj"
ZEA

This one is for Export from Rhino - it tesselates Nurbs geometry even and densely (as I typically drop to Zbrush for remeshing before bringing CAD-data into Nvil - for that task I use passerby's script). But you can dial in any mesh setting of your preference into that macro or also bring up the mesher dialog by changing the macro slighly.
Code: [Select]
!-export
V=5
S=N
G=Y
a=N
e=N
C:\Users\yourUserName\AppData\Roaming\DigitalFossils\NVil\Media\Clipboard\ClipboardObj.obj
G=M
E=CRLF
x=ExportObjectsAsOBJObjects
p=ExportLayersAsOBJGroups
S=N
o=Y
r=Y
C=N
t=N
Y=Yes
W=No
V=W
i=16
Enter
P=0
D
A
A=0
s=1
D=0
e=0
G=0
M=1
i=0.1
Enter
J=N
P=Y
R=Y
S=N
Enter



Title: Re: AppLink to Rhino
Post by: samardac on May 13, 2014, 11:51:58 am
Thank you!!
Check this: http://voidworld.cmcproductions.co.uk/index.php/topic,2364.0.html