News:

Topic: Dxf import  (Read 3297 times)

• No avatar
  • Vertex
    • My worklog
April 21, 2017, 11:07:37 pm
Hi all,

I've tested dxf import but didn't imported anything and no error showed.

Has anyone tested it? It is needed some specific dxf version? I can only output to 2013 one.

Thanks!

• No avatar
  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
April 22, 2017, 07:42:39 am
Can you send me a dxf sample file with very simple geometry something like a box or even a plane?

• No avatar
  • Vertex
    • My worklog
April 29, 2017, 05:48:28 pm
Sorry, did'n notice.

This is a simple square from nanocad.

« Last Edit: April 29, 2017, 06:23:41 pm by Asticles »

• No avatar
  • Vertex
    • My worklog
April 29, 2017, 06:37:12 pm
And simple lines with dimensions from freecad.

Thanks

• No avatar
  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
April 30, 2017, 08:05:19 am
I have a look at the files but don't understand anything at all. I have no knowledge of dxf format. I just use the function provided in fbx sdk to do the dxf import/export.

Only face information can be imported. It won't work if there is only information of points and lines.

• No avatar
  • Vertex
    • My worklog
April 30, 2017, 11:31:08 am
The problem (for me) is that the interesting thing about importing dxf files is to get cad drawings to work with them as a reference for architecture modeling.

• No avatar
  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
May 03, 2017, 08:23:08 am
Try this
http://www.digitalfossils.com/Download/NVil-May-03-17.rar

* Edit > Preference > Options2 > Snap to frozen object enabled.
  * Edit > Options > File Format Options > dxf > Import isolated vertices. The isolated vertices will be wrapped into an object called "Obj_ISO_Verts_Only". Faces should be created base on these isolated vertices so they can be used as snapping objects for precision modeling.

• No avatar
  • Vertex
    • My worklog
May 05, 2017, 03:26:24 pm
Hi IStonia,